Skip to content
Register Sign in Wishlist

22 Cambridge authors named Fellows by The American Academy of Arts and Sciences (AAAS)

The American Academy of Arts and Sciences (AAAS) has selected 22 Cambridge University Press authors as part of its 2018 class of Fellows and International Honorary Members. The authors join a class of 213 fellow scholars, artists and world leaders, which also includes Supreme Court Justice Sonia M. Sotomayor, 44th President of the United States Barack H. Obama, author Ta-Nehisi Coates and philanthropist and entrepreneur Laurene Powell Jobs.

Founded in 1780, the AAAS is one of the oldest learned societies in the country. As an independent policy research center, it champions scholarship, civil dialogue and useful knowledge. Members have included Benjamin Franklin, Alexander Hamilton, Ralph Waldo Emerson, Maria Mitchell, Charles Darwin, Albert Einstein, Robert Frost, Margaret Mead and Martin Luther King, Jr.

The full list of Cambridge University Press authors elected in this year’s class include:

Michael Alvarez, California Institute of Technology - Computational Social Science

Robert Audi, University of Notre Dame, Indiana - The Cambridge Dictionary of Philosophy

Alexei Borodin, Massachusetts Institute of Technology - Representations of the Infinite Symmetric Group

Philippe Bourgois, University of California, Los Angeles - In Search of Respect

John Bowen, Washington University St. Louis - A New Anthropology of Islam

Christian Davenport, University of Michigan - Media Bias, Perspective and State Repression: The Black Panther Party

Linda T. Elkins-Tanton, Arizona State University - Planetesimals: Early Differentiation and Consequences for Planets

Randall W. Engle, Georgia Institute of Technology - Cognitive Limitations in Aging and Psychopathology

Simon E. Gikandi, Princeton University - Ngugi wa Thiong’o

Jianguio Liu, Michigan State UniversitySources, Sinks and Sustainability

Nathaniel Mackey, Duke UniversityDiscrepant Engagement

Marc Mangel, University of California, Santa CruzThe Theoretical Biologist’s Toolbox

Pippa Norris, Harvard Kennedy SchoolStrengthening Electoral Integrity and Why Elections Fail

Elaine S. Oran, University of MarylandNumerical Simulation of Reactive Flow

Guillermo Sapiro, Duke UniversityGeometric Partial Differential Equations and Image Analysis

Debra Satz, Stanford UniversityEconomic Analysis, Moral Philosophy, and Public Policy

David Cannadine, University of LondonWinston Churchill in the Twenty-First Century

Itzhak Gilboa, Tel-Aviv University and HEC, ParisTheory of Decision under Uncertainty

Jennifer Hornsby, University of LondonThe Cambridge Companion to Feminism in Philosophy

Gabor Klaniczay, CEUHoly Rulers and Blessed Princesses

Martti Koskenniemi, University of HelsinkiThe Gentle Civilizer of Nations

Pablo Marquet, Pontificia Universidad Catolica de ChileScaling Biodiversity

Have your say


Find content that relates to you

Join us online

This site uses cookies to improve your experience. Read more Close

Are you sure you want to delete your account?

This cannot be undone.


Thank you for your feedback which will help us improve our service.

If you requested a response, we will make sure to get back to you shortly.

Please fill in the required fields in your feedback submission.