Skip to content
Register Sign in Wishlist
Brahms: Clarinet Quintet

Brahms: Clarinet Quintet


Part of Cambridge Music Handbooks

  • Date Published: January 1998
  • availability: Available
  • format: Paperback
  • isbn: 9780521588317

£ 23.99

Add to cart Add to wishlist

Other available formats:

Looking for an inspection copy?

This title is not currently available on inspection

Product filter button
About the Authors
  • On its first appearance in 1891, Brahms' Clarinet Quintet was immediately recognised as a remarkable achievement, and a century later it still has the power to claim the hearts and minds of players and audiences alike. Widely regarded as Brahms' supreme achievement in the field of chamber music, the Clarinet Quintet is here placed in the context of the history of the clarinet and its repertory, and of Brahms' own compositions before 1891. The influence of the Meiningen clarinet virtuoso Richard Mühlfeld unleashed a new vein of creativity in Brahms, and this forms a basis for discussion, together with questions of performance practice (in relation to both clarinet and string quartet) and the legacy of Brahms' clarinet music. These chapters are complemented by a comprehensive analysis of the music.

    • The first book devoted to the work which is widely regarded as Brahms' supreme achievement in the field of chamber music
    • The book is written by one of the foremost performers and scholars of the historical clarinet
    • Special attention is given to performance practice, and Brahms' influence on later composers
    Read more

    Customer reviews

    Not yet reviewed

    Be the first to review

    Review was not posted due to profanity


    , create a review

    (If you're not , sign out)

    Please enter the right captcha value
    Please enter a star rating.
    Your review must be a minimum of 12 words.

    How do you rate this item?


    Product details

    • Date Published: January 1998
    • format: Paperback
    • isbn: 9780521588317
    • length: 132 pages
    • dimensions: 215 x 139 x 9 mm
    • weight: 0.18kg
    • contains: 2 b/w illus. 12 music examples
    • availability: Available
  • Table of Contents

    List of illustrations
    1. The nineteenth-century clarinet and its music
    2. Brahms and the orchestral clarinet
    3. Brahms's chamber music before 1891
    4. The genesis and reception of the clarinet quintet
    5. Design and structure
    6. Performance practice
    7. The legacy of Brahms's clarinet music
    Select bibliography

  • Author

    Colin Lawson, Royal College of Music, London

Sign In

Please sign in to access your account


Not already registered? Create an account now. ×

Sorry, this resource is locked

Please register or sign in to request access. If you are having problems accessing these resources please email

Register Sign in
Please note that this file is password protected. You will be asked to input your password on the next screen.

» Proceed

You are now leaving the Cambridge University Press website. Your eBook purchase and download will be completed by our partner Please see the permission section of the catalogue page for details of the print & copy limits on our eBooks.

Continue ×

Continue ×

Continue ×

Find content that relates to you

Join us online

This site uses cookies to improve your experience. Read more Close

Are you sure you want to delete your account?

This cannot be undone.


Thank you for your feedback which will help us improve our service.

If you requested a response, we will make sure to get back to you shortly.

Please fill in the required fields in your feedback submission.