Skip to content
Register Sign in Wishlist

2018 Berggruen Prize winner is Press author

Martha C. Nussbaum has been announced as the winner of the 2018 Berggruen Prize for Philosophy and Culture.

Awarded annually, the Berggruen Prize is given to a thinker whose ideas “have profoundly shaped human self-understanding and advancement in a rapidly changing world.”

Nussbaum’s Press-published titles include The Fragility of Goodness: Luck and Ethics in Greek Tragedy and Philosophy and Women and Human Development: The Capabilities Approach.

“Martha C. Nussbaum has taken her transformative work as an academic philosopher into public debates about key questions of national and global political significance, making her one of the world’s leading public philosophers,” the prize jury said. “Motivated by the desire to understand the conditions for well being in light of the complexity of human existence, she has used the power of literature to reveal and explore the central place of the emotions: vulnerability, anger and fear in moral and political life.”

The prize, which carries a cash award of $1 million, will be awarded at a ceremony in New York in December.

Last year’s winner, Onora O’Neill, is also a Press author, publishing titles including Justice across Boundaries: Whose Obligations? and From Principles to Practice: Normativity and Judgement in Ethics and Politics.

Have your say


Find content that relates to you

Join us online

This site uses cookies to improve your experience. Read more Close

Are you sure you want to delete your account?

This cannot be undone.


Thank you for your feedback which will help us improve our service.

If you requested a response, we will make sure to get back to you shortly.

Please fill in the required fields in your feedback submission.