Skip to content
Register Sign in Wishlist
Beethoven: Violin Concerto

Beethoven: Violin Concerto


Part of Cambridge Music Handbooks

  • Date Published: February 1998
  • availability: Available
  • format: Paperback
  • isbn: 9780521457750

£ 23.99

Add to cart Add to wishlist

Other available formats:
Hardback, eBook

Looking for an inspection copy?

This title is not currently available on inspection

Product filter button
About the Authors
  • Beethoven's Violin Concerto was the only significant work of this genre to appear between Mozart's five concertos of 1775 and Mendelssohn's E minor Concerto of 1844. This handbook explores the background to Beethoven's work, its genesis, its place in the composer's oeuvre and the influences which combined in its creation. It describes contemporary reactions to the work both in the musical press and in the concert hall during its first crucial years, and explains how it was eventually accepted into the repertory, spawning numerous recordings and editions. The principal sources and many of the work's textual problems are considered, including discussion of the composer's version for piano and orchestra, Op. 61a. A detailed account of the work itself is followed by a review of the wide variety of cadenzas that have been written to complement the concerto through its performance history.

    • This is the first individual study of Beethoven's Violin Concerto
    • It sheds light on the personalities and styles which influenced Beethoven and his conception of the work
    • It describes the genesis of the work, its performance history and critical reception in detail
    Read more

    Customer reviews

    Not yet reviewed

    Be the first to review

    Review was not posted due to profanity


    , create a review

    (If you're not , sign out)

    Please enter the right captcha value
    Please enter a star rating.
    Your review must be a minimum of 12 words.

    How do you rate this item?


    Product details

    • Date Published: February 1998
    • format: Paperback
    • isbn: 9780521457750
    • length: 140 pages
    • dimensions: 214 x 136 x 10 mm
    • weight: 0.17kg
    • contains: 2 b/w illus. 3 tables 30 music examples
    • availability: Available
  • Table of Contents

    1. Towards the Violin Concerto op. 61
    2. The genesis of op. 61
    3. Reception and performance history
    4. The textual history
    5. Structure and style I:
    1. Allegro ma non troppo
    6. Structure and style II:
    2/3. Larghetto - Rondo: Allegro
    Rondo: Allegro
    7. Cadenzas.

  • Author

    Robin Stowell, University of Wales College of Cardiff

Sign In

Please sign in to access your account


Not already registered? Create an account now. ×

Sorry, this resource is locked

Please register or sign in to request access. If you are having problems accessing these resources please email

Register Sign in
Please note that this file is password protected. You will be asked to input your password on the next screen.

» Proceed

You are now leaving the Cambridge University Press website. Your eBook purchase and download will be completed by our partner Please see the permission section of the catalogue page for details of the print & copy limits on our eBooks.

Continue ×

Continue ×

Continue ×

Find content that relates to you

Join us online

This site uses cookies to improve your experience. Read more Close

Are you sure you want to delete your account?

This cannot be undone.


Thank you for your feedback which will help us improve our service.

If you requested a response, we will make sure to get back to you shortly.

Please fill in the required fields in your feedback submission.