Skip to content
Register Sign in Wishlist

Deep Beauty
Understanding the Quantum World through Mathematical Innovation


John C. Baez, Aaron Lauda, Bob Coecke, Chris J. Isham, Andreas Döring, Hans F. de Groote, Chris Heunen, Nicolaas P. Landsman, Bas Spitters, Stephen J. Summers, Miklós Rédei, Borivoje Dakić, Časlav Brukner, Jeffrey Bub, Lucien Hardy, John H. Conway, Simon Kochen
View all contributors
  • Date Published: June 2011
  • availability: In stock
  • format: Hardback
  • isbn: 9781107005709

£ 130.00

Add to cart Add to wishlist

Other available formats:

Looking for an inspection copy?

This title is not currently available on inspection

Product filter button
About the Authors
  • No scientific theory has caused more puzzlement and confusion than quantum theory. Physics is supposed to help us to understand the world, but quantum theory makes it seem a very strange place. This book is about how mathematical innovation can help us gain deeper insight into the structure of the physical world. Chapters by top researchers in the mathematical foundations of physics explore new ideas, especially novel mathematical concepts at the cutting edge of future physics. These creative developments in mathematics may catalyze the advances that enable us to understand our current physical theories, especially quantum theory. The authors bring diverse perspectives, unified only by the attempt to introduce fresh concepts that will open up new vistas in our understanding of future physics.

    • Offers contributions from working physicists/mathematicians who give their views on the foundations of their subject
    • Discusses the boundaries of our current understanding of the physical world
    • Includes new mathematical ideas that uncover hidden beauty behind physical phenomena
    Read more

    Customer reviews

    Not yet reviewed

    Be the first to review

    Review was not posted due to profanity


    , create a review

    (If you're not , sign out)

    Please enter the right captcha value
    Please enter a star rating.
    Your review must be a minimum of 12 words.

    How do you rate this item?


    Product details

    • Date Published: June 2011
    • format: Hardback
    • isbn: 9781107005709
    • length: 486 pages
    • dimensions: 261 x 185 x 28 mm
    • weight: 1kg
    • contains: 15 b/w illus.
    • availability: In stock
  • Table of Contents

    Part I. Beyond the Hilbert Space Formalism: Category Theory:
    1. A prehistory of n-categorical physics John C. Baez and Aaron Lauda
    2. A universe of processes and some of its guises Bob Coecke
    3. Topos methods in the foundations of physics Chris J. Isham
    4. The physical interpretation of daseinisation Andreas Döring
    5. Classical and quantum observables Hans F. de Groote
    6. Bohrification Chris Heunen, Nicolaas P. Landsman and Bas Spitters
    Part II. Beyond the Hilbert Space Formalism: Operator Algebras:
    7. Yet more ado about nothing: the remarkable relativistic vacuum state Stephen J. Summers
    8. Einstein meets von Neumann: locality and operational independence in algebraic quantum field theory Miklós Rédei
    Part III. Behind the Hilbert Space Formalism:
    9. Quantum theory and beyond: is entanglement special? Borivoje Dakić and Časlav Brukner
    10. Is Von Neumann's 'no hidden variables' proof silly? Jeffrey Bub
    11. Foliable operational structures for general probabilistic theories Lucien Hardy
    12. The strong free will theorem John H. Conway and Simon Kochen.

  • Editor

    Hans Halvorson, Princeton University, New Jersey
    Hans Halvorson is Professor of Philosophy at Princeton University. He has written extensively on the foundations of quantum physics, with articles appearing in the Journal of Mathematical Physics, the Physical Review, Philosophy of Science, and the British Journal for the Philosophy of Science, among others. He is currently working on applying the tools of category theory to questions in the foundations of mathematics. Halvorson has been the recipient of the Mellon New Directions Fellowship (2007), the Cushing Memorial Prize in the History and Philosophy of Physics (2004), Best Article of the Year by a Recent Ph.D. (Philosophy of Science Association, 2001) and Ten Best Philosophy Articles of the Year (The Philosopher's Annual, 2001 and 2002).


    John C. Baez, Aaron Lauda, Bob Coecke, Chris J. Isham, Andreas Döring, Hans F. de Groote, Chris Heunen, Nicolaas P. Landsman, Bas Spitters, Stephen J. Summers, Miklós Rédei, Borivoje Dakić, Časlav Brukner, Jeffrey Bub, Lucien Hardy, John H. Conway, Simon Kochen

Sign In

Please sign in to access your account


Not already registered? Create an account now. ×

Sorry, this resource is locked

Please register or sign in to request access. If you are having problems accessing these resources please email

Register Sign in
Please note that this file is password protected. You will be asked to input your password on the next screen.

» Proceed

You are now leaving the Cambridge University Press website. Your eBook purchase and download will be completed by our partner Please see the permission section of the catalogue page for details of the print & copy limits on our eBooks.

Continue ×

Continue ×

Continue ×

Find content that relates to you

Join us online

This site uses cookies to improve your experience. Read more Close

Are you sure you want to delete your account?

This cannot be undone.


Thank you for your feedback which will help us improve our service.

If you requested a response, we will make sure to get back to you shortly.

Please fill in the required fields in your feedback submission.