Skip to content
Register Sign in Wishlist
The Works of Isambard Kingdom Brunel

The Works of Isambard Kingdom Brunel
An Engineering Appreciation


Alfred Pugsley, R. A. Buchanan, Harold Harding, O. S. Nock, J. B. B. Owen, L. G. Booth, J. B. Caldwell, Hubert Shirley Smith
View all contributors
  • Date Published: January 2011
  • availability: Available
  • format: Paperback
  • isbn: 9780521157780

$ 47.99

Add to cart Add to wishlist

Looking for an inspection copy?

This title is not currently available for inspection. However, if you are interested in the title for your course we can consider offering an inspection copy. To register your interest please contact providing details of the course you are teaching.

Product filter button
About the Authors
  • Originally published in 1976, this book describes the achievements of I. K. Brunel, the giant among nineteenth-century engineers, whose works include the construction of the Clifton Suspension Bridge, and three famous ships, Great Western, Great Britain and Great Eastern. He was the engineer in charge of what became the Great Western Railway. Tunnels played a vital role in his life and work, beginning at the age of eighteen with the Thames tunnel and progressing to those needed by the railway companies. At the time of publication, there was a general revival of interest of Brunel. A group of engineers, each distinguished for work in their field, joined together to pay tribute to him by describing his major works and critically examining them. For this purpose they have sought out relevant contemporary documents and drawings, and benefited from a study of the Brunel papers held by the University of Bristol.

    Customer reviews

    Not yet reviewed

    Be the first to review

    Review was not posted due to profanity


    , create a review

    (If you're not , sign out)

    Please enter the right captcha value
    Please enter a star rating.
    Your review must be a minimum of 12 words.

    How do you rate this item?


    Product details

    • Date Published: January 2011
    • format: Paperback
    • isbn: 9780521157780
    • length: 234 pages
    • dimensions: 231 x 152 x 17 mm
    • weight: 0.35kg
    • availability: Available
  • Table of Contents

    Introduction Alfred Pugsley
    1. I. K. Brunel: engineer R. A. Buchanan
    2. Tunnels Harold Harding
    3. Clifton Suspension Bridge Alfred Pugsley
    4. Railways O. S. Nock
    5. Arch bridges J. B. B. Owen
    6. Timber works L. G. Booth
    7. The three great ships J. B. Caldwell
    8. Royal Albert Bridge Hubert Shirley Smith
    9. Theoretical work

  • Author

    Alfred Pugsley


    Alfred Pugsley, R. A. Buchanan, Harold Harding, O. S. Nock, J. B. B. Owen, L. G. Booth, J. B. Caldwell, Hubert Shirley Smith

Sign In

Please sign in to access your account


Not already registered? Create an account now. ×

Sorry, this resource is locked

Please register or sign in to request access. If you are having problems accessing these resources please email

Register Sign in
Please note that this file is password protected. You will be asked to input your password on the next screen.

» Proceed

You are now leaving the Cambridge University Press website. Your eBook purchase and download will be completed by our partner Please see the permission section of the catalogue page for details of the print & copy limits on our eBooks.

Continue ×

Continue ×

Continue ×

Find content that relates to you

Join us online

This site uses cookies to improve your experience. Read more Close

Are you sure you want to delete your account?

This cannot be undone.


Thank you for your feedback which will help us improve our service.

If you requested a response, we will make sure to get back to you shortly.

Please fill in the required fields in your feedback submission.