Skip to content
Register Sign in Wishlist

International Astrostatistics Association Award Winners

Background and Association with Cambridge University Press

The International Astrostatistics Association is an authorized astrostatistics group originally formed by Cambridge University Press author, Joseph Hilbe (Arizona State University) in 2008, under the scope of the International Statistical Institute (ISI). Astrostatistics became an ISI standing committee in December 2009, and three weeks later, the ISI Astrostatistics Network, which would allow any number of members to join, was initiated. In 2012, the Network voted to become an independent global scientific association for Astrostatistics and Astroinformatics called the International Astrostatistics Association (IAA). In the same year, Cambridge University Press author, Eric Feigelson, along with Hilbe, founded the Astrostatistics and Astroinformatics Portal (ASAIP) at Penn State University. The IAA office is located at Brera Observatory in Milan, Italy, under the direction of Stefano Andreon, IAA membership chair. Its website is:

Within three years, the IAA has grown to more than 550 members from 56 nations. Cambridge University Press is a proud sponsor of the first-ever IAA Awards, a program which recognizes the achievements and contributions of scholars and researchers to Astrostatistics and Astroinformatics. Each year, Cambridge University Press will host the names of the IAA Awards winners on this website. Please scroll below to see this year’s winners.

Winners of the 2016 IAA Awards

Outstanding Contributions to Astrostatistics

G. Jogesh Babu, Pennsylvania State University, USA

Eric D. Feigelson, Pennsylvania State University, USA

Joseph M. Hilbe, Arizona State University, USA

Fionn Murtagh, University of Derby, UK

IAA Elected Fellows

Stefano Andreon, INAF-Brera Astronomical Observatory, Italy

G. Jogesh Babu, Pennsylvania State University, USA

Asis K. Chattopadhyay, University of Calcutta, India

Kirk D. Borne, Booz Allen Hamilton Strategic Innovation Group, USA

Eric D. Feigelson, Pennsylvania State University, USA

Alan J. Heavens, Imperial College, UK

Joseph M. Hilbe, Arizona State University, USA

Ajit K. Kembhavi, Inter University Center for Astronomy & Astrophysics, India

Jean-Luc Starck, CEA Saclay, France

Roberto Trotta, Imperial College, UK

David A. van Dyk, Imperial College, UK

Yanxia Zhang, National Astronomical Observatory, China

Outstanding Publication in Astrostatistics

Asis K. Chattopadhyay, University of Calcutta, India
Tanuka Chattopadhyay, University of Calcutta, India


Chattopadhyay, A. & Chattopadhyay, T. (2014), Statistical Methods for Astronomical Data Analysis, Springer

Zeljko Ivezic, University of Washington, USA
Andrew J. Connolly, University of Washington, USA
Jacob T. VanderPlas, University of Washington, USA
Alexander Gray, Skytree Inc., San Jose, CA USA


Ivezic, Z., Connolly, A.J., VanderPlas, J.T., Gray, A. (2014), Statistics, Data Mining and Machine Learning in Astronomy, Princeton University Press

Outstanding Publication in Astrostatistics by a PostDoc

Rafael S. de Souza, Eötvös University, Budapest, Hungary
Ewan Cameron, Oxford University, UK
Emille E.O. Ishida, Blaise Pascal University, France
Ana L. Chies-Santos, Rio Grande Federal Univesity of the South
Madhura Killedar, Burnet Institute, Australia


de Souza, R.S., Hilbe, J.M., Buelens, B., Riggs, J.D., Cameron, E., Ishida, E.E.O., Chies-Santos, A.L., Killedar, M., "The Overlooked Potential of Generalized Linear Models in Astronomy III: Bayesian, Negative Binomial Regression and Golbular Cluster Populations", Monthly Notices of the Royal Astronomical Society, 453, 2: 1928-1940 (2015)


Dario Colombo, Max Planck Institute for Radio Astronomy, Germany
Adam Ginsberg, European Southern Observatory, Garching bei München, Germany
Ana Duarte Cabral, CEMPS, University of Exeter, UK
Annie Hughes, Research Institute in Astrophysics and Planetology, Toulouse, France


Colombo, D., Rosolowsky, E., Ginsburg, A., Duarte-Cabral, A., Hughes, A. "Graph-based interpretation of the molecular interstellar medium segmentation", Monthly Notices of the Royal Astronomical Society, Vol 454, 2: 2067-2091

Stefano Cavuoti, University of Naples Federico II, Italy


Cavuoti, S. (2015), DataRich Astronomy: Mining Synoptic Sky Surveys, Lambert Academic Publishing

Outstanding Publication in Astrostatistics by a Student

Tuli De, Novartis Healthcare private Limited, Hyderabad, India


De, T., Chattopadhyay, T. and Chattopadhyay, A.K., "Use of cross correlation function to study formation mechanism of massive elliptical galaxies", Publications of the Astronomical Society of Australia (PASA), 2014, 31-47


The IAA Award Committee Members

Bruce Bassett, University of Cape Town, South Africa
Didler Fraix-Burnet, Astrophysics lab of Grenoble, France
David Hand, Imperial College, London, UK
Thomas Kitching, University of Edinburgh, UK
Oleg Malkov, Moscow State University, Russia

Committee Rules for Nominations

If you are interested in entering the IAA Awards for next year, click here to learn more about the criteria.

Find content that relates to you

Join us online

This site uses cookies to improve your experience. Read more Close

Are you sure you want to delete your account?

This cannot be undone.


Thank you for your feedback which will help us improve our service.

If you requested a response, we will make sure to get back to you shortly.

Please fill in the required fields in your feedback submission.