Skip to content

Your Cart


You have 0 items in your cart.

Register Sign in Wishlist
The Cambridge Companion to Stravinsky

The Cambridge Companion to Stravinsky


Part of Cambridge Companions to Music

Rosamund Bartlett, Christopher Butler, Arnold Whittall, Anthony Pople, Kenneth Gloag, Martha Hyde, Jonathan Cross, Joseph N. Straus, Nicholas Cook, Max Paddison, Craig Ayrey, Stuart Campbell, Louis Andriessen, Richard Taruskin
View all contributors
  • Date Published: July 2003
  • availability: Available
  • format: Paperback
  • isbn: 9780521663779

£ 25.99

Add to cart Add to wishlist

Other available formats:

Looking for an inspection copy?

This title is not currently available on inspection

Product filter button
About the Authors
  • Stravinsky's work spanned the major part of the twentieth century and engaged with nearly all its principal compositional developments. This Companion reflects the breadth of Stravinsky's achievement and influence in essays by leading international scholars on a wide range of topics. It is divided into three parts dealing with the contexts within which Stravinsky worked (Russian, modernist and compositional), with his key compositions (Russian, neoclassical and serial), and with the reception of his ideas (through performance, analysis and criticism). The volume concludes with an interview with the leading Dutch composer Louis Andriessen and a major re-evaluation of 'Stravinsky and Us' by Richard Taruskin.

    • Covers all aspects of Stravinsky's music and career at a level accessible to students
    • Contains essays by the leading international writers on Stravinsky
    • Features an exclusive interview with the renowned Dutch composer Louis Andriessen
    Read more

    Reviews & endorsements

    '… well annotated and illustrated … it will provide a valuable guide for music students and scholars as well as for music lovers who have the desire and technical knowledge to engage more fully with a major phenomenon in modern music … Jonathan Cross's Companion deserves to be translated into Russian and published in the country where the heritage of one of its greatest composers seems to be still only partially appreciated.' Slavonic and East European Review

    Customer reviews

    Not yet reviewed

    Be the first to review

    Review was not posted due to profanity


    , create a review

    (If you're not , sign out)

    Please enter the right captcha value
    Please enter a star rating.
    Your review must be a minimum of 12 words.

    How do you rate this item?


    Product details

    • Date Published: July 2003
    • format: Paperback
    • isbn: 9780521663779
    • length: 344 pages
    • dimensions: 248 x 171 x 18 mm
    • weight: 0.58kg
    • contains: 45 music examples
    • availability: Available
  • Table of Contents

    Chronology of Stravinsky's life and career
    Part I. Origins and Contexts:
    1. Stravinsky's origins Rosamund Bartlett
    2. Stravinsky as modernist Christopher Butler
    3. Stravinsky in context Arnold Whittall
    Part II. The Works:
    4. Early Stravinsky Anthony Pople
    5. Russian Rites: Petrushka, The Rite of Spring, Les Noces Kenneth Gloag
    6. Stravinsky's neoclassicism Martha Hyde
    7. Stravinsky in the theatre Jonathan Cross
    8. Stravinsky the serialist Joseph N. Straus
    Part III. Reception:
    9. Stravinsky conducts Stravinsky Nicholas Cook
    10. Stravinsky as devil Max Paddison
    11. Stravinsky and the analytical traditions Craig Ayrey
    12. Stravinsky and the critics Stuart Campbell
    13. Composing with Stravinsky Louis Andriessen and Jonathan Cross
    14. Stravinsky and us Richard Taruskin.

  • Editor

    Jonathan Cross, University of Bristol
    Jonathan Cross is Reader in Musicology at the University of Bristol. He is author of The Stravinsky Legacy (Cambridge1998) and Harrison Birtwistle: Man, Mind, Music (2000), and is Editor of the journal Music Analysis.


    Rosamund Bartlett, Christopher Butler, Arnold Whittall, Anthony Pople, Kenneth Gloag, Martha Hyde, Jonathan Cross, Joseph N. Straus, Nicholas Cook, Max Paddison, Craig Ayrey, Stuart Campbell, Louis Andriessen, Richard Taruskin

Sign In

Please sign in to access your account


Not already registered? Create an account now. ×

Sorry, this resource is locked

Please register or sign in to request access. If you are having problems accessing these resources please email

Register Sign in
Please note that this file is password protected. You will be asked to input your password on the next screen.

» Proceed

You are now leaving the Cambridge University Press website. Your eBook purchase and download will be completed by our partner Please see the permission section of the catalogue page for details of the print & copy limits on our eBooks.

Continue ×

Continue ×

Continue ×

Find content that relates to you

This site uses cookies to improve your experience. Read more Close

Are you sure you want to delete your account?

This cannot be undone.


Thank you for your feedback which will help us improve our service.

If you requested a response, we will make sure to get back to you shortly.

Please fill in the required fields in your feedback submission.