Skip to content
Register Sign in Wishlist
The Cambridge Companion to Mozart

The Cambridge Companion to Mozart


Part of Cambridge Companions to Music

Simon P. Keefe, Cliff Eisen, Dorothea Link, Ian Woodfield, David Schroeder, W. Dean Sutcliffe, Paul Corneilson, Edmund J. Goehring, Julian Rushton, David J. Buch, John Daverio, Jan Smaczny, William Stafford, Katalin Komlós, Robert D. Levin
View all contributors
  • Date Published: May 2003
  • availability: Available
  • format: Paperback
  • isbn: 9780521001922

£ 28.99

Add to cart Add to wishlist

Other available formats:

Looking for an inspection copy?

This title is not currently available on inspection

Product filter button
About the Authors
  • The Cambridge Companion to Mozart paints a rounded yet focussed picture of one of the most revered artists of all time. Bringing the most recent scholarship into the public arena, this volume bridges the gap between scholarly and popular images of the composer, enhancing the readers' appreciation of Mozart and his extraordinary output, regardless of their prior knowledge of the music. Part I situates Mozart in the context of late eighteenth-century musical environments and aesthetic trends that played a pivotal role in his artistic development and examines his methods of composition. Part II surveys Mozart's works in all of the genres in which he excelled and Part III looks at the reception of the composer and his music since his death. Part IV offers insight into Mozart's career as a performer as well as theoretical and practical perspectives on historically informed performances of his music.

    • Comprehensive coverage of Mozart's works
    • Written by the top international Mozart scholars
    • The most recent scholarship presented in a user-friendly fashion
    Read more

    Reviews & endorsements

    'For anyone interested in the composer's sublime music this collection must become essential reading.' Contemporary Review

    '… material here to appeal to people approaching Mozart from a wide variety of angles …'. Gramophone

    'Keeping abreast of the burgeoning Mozart literature is an impossible task at the best of times, and this volume serves both as a timely reminder of the problem and as a reliable and up-to-date guide that navigates debates old and new with clarity and authority.' Eighteenth-Century Music

    See more reviews

    Customer reviews

    Not yet reviewed

    Be the first to review

    Review was not posted due to profanity


    , create a review

    (If you're not , sign out)

    Please enter the right captcha value
    Please enter a star rating.
    Your review must be a minimum of 12 words.

    How do you rate this item?


    Product details

    • Date Published: May 2003
    • format: Paperback
    • isbn: 9780521001922
    • length: 314 pages
    • dimensions: 248 x 175 x 28 mm
    • weight: 0.63kg
    • contains: 3 b/w illus. 8 tables 40 music examples
    • availability: Available
  • Table of Contents

    Introduction Simon P. Keefe
    Chronology of Mozart's Life and Works Simon P. Keefe
    Part I. Mozart in Context:
    1. Mozart and Salzburg Cliff Eisen
    2. Mozart in Vienna Dorothea Link
    3. Mozart's compositional methods: writing for his singers Ian Woodfield
    4. Mozart and late eighteenth-century aesthetics David Schroeder
    Part II. The Works:
    5. The keyboard music W. Dean Sutcliffe
    6. The concertos in aesthetic and stylistic context Simon P. Keefe
    7. The orchestral music Simon P. Keefe
    8. Mozart's chamber music Cliff Eisen
    9. Mozart as a vocal composer Paul Corneilson
    10. The opere buffe Edmund J. Goehring
    11. Mozart and opera seria Julian Rushton
    12. Mozart's German operas David J. Buch
    Part III. Reception:
    13. Mozart in the nineteenth century John Daverio
    14. Mozart and the twentieth century Jan Smaczny
    15. The Evolution of Mozartian biography William Stafford
    Part IV. Performance:
    16. Mozart the performer Katalin Komlós
    17. Performance practice in the music of Mozart Robert D. Levin.

  • Instructors have used or reviewed this title for the following courses

    • A Composer's Style and Music: Mozart
    • Haydn & Mozart
    • Music of Mozart
  • Editor

    Simon P. Keefe, Queen's University Belfast
    Simon P. Keefe is Lecturer in Music at Queen's University, Belfast. He is the author of Mozart's Piano Concertos: Dramatic Dialogue in the Age of Enlightenment (2001).


    Simon P. Keefe, Cliff Eisen, Dorothea Link, Ian Woodfield, David Schroeder, W. Dean Sutcliffe, Paul Corneilson, Edmund J. Goehring, Julian Rushton, David J. Buch, John Daverio, Jan Smaczny, William Stafford, Katalin Komlós, Robert D. Levin

Sign In

Please sign in to access your account


Not already registered? Create an account now. ×

Sorry, this resource is locked

Please register or sign in to request access. If you are having problems accessing these resources please email

Register Sign in
Please note that this file is password protected. You will be asked to input your password on the next screen.

» Proceed

You are now leaving the Cambridge University Press website. Your eBook purchase and download will be completed by our partner Please see the permission section of the catalogue page for details of the print & copy limits on our eBooks.

Continue ×

Continue ×

Continue ×

Find content that relates to you

Join us online

This site uses cookies to improve your experience. Read more Close

Are you sure you want to delete your account?

This cannot be undone.


Thank you for your feedback which will help us improve our service.

If you requested a response, we will make sure to get back to you shortly.

Please fill in the required fields in your feedback submission.