Skip to content

Your Cart


You have 0 items in your cart.

Register Sign in Wishlist
Handbook of British Chronology

Handbook of British Chronology

3rd Edition

$101.00 (C)

Part of Royal Historical Society Guides and Handbooks

  • Date Published: February 1996
  • availability: Available
  • format: Hardback
  • isbn: 9780521563505

$ 101.00 (C)

Add to cart Add to wishlist

Looking for an examination copy?

If you are interested in the title for your course we can consider offering an examination copy. To register your interest please contact providing details of the course you are teaching.

Product filter button
About the Authors
  • This third edition of the Handbook of British Chronology, published by the Royal Historical Society in 1986, is now available from Cambridge University Press. This book has been a standard work of reference for serious students of history since the publication of the first edition in 1941. As well as including lists of monarchs, dukes, marquesses and earls, the book details officers of state and archbishops and bishops for the whole of the British Isles from the Anglo-Saxon period through to 1985. This volume will be of particular use to medieval historians, but will also be a valuable reference tool for students of modern history.

    • Provides an essential reference tool for scholars of all periods of British history
    • Authoritative and indispensable record of all holders of major offices in England, Scotland and Ireland
    Read more

    Customer reviews

    Not yet reviewed

    Be the first to review

    Review was not posted due to profanity


    , create a review

    (If you're not , sign out)

    Please enter the right captcha value
    Please enter a star rating.
    Your review must be a minimum of 12 words.

    How do you rate this item?


    Product details

    • Edition: 3rd Edition
    • Date Published: February 1996
    • format: Hardback
    • isbn: 9780521563505
    • length: 645 pages
    • dimensions: 236 x 158 x 39 mm
    • weight: 1.119kg
    • availability: Available
  • Table of Contents

    List of abbreviations
    Bibliographical guide to the lists of English office-holders
    1. Rulers: England, Wales, Scotland, Isle of Man
    2. English Officers of State
    3. Irish Officers of State
    4. Scottish Officers of State
    5. The Channel Islands
    6. Archbishops and Bishops of England
    7. Bishops of Wales
    8. Bishops of Scotland
    9. Archbishops and Bishops of Ireland
    10. Dukes, Marquesses and Earls (England), 1066–1714
    11. Dukes, Marquesses and Earls (Ireland)
    12. Dukes, Marquesses and Earls (Scotland)
    13. English and British Parliaments and Related Assemblies to 1832
    14. Provincial and National Councils of the Church of England c. 600–1536

  • Editors

    E. B. Pryde

    D. E. Greenway

    S. Porter

    I. Roy

Sign In

Please sign in to access your account


Not already registered? Create an account now. ×

Sorry, this resource is locked

Please register or sign in to request access. If you are having problems accessing these resources please email

Register Sign in
Please note that this file is password protected. You will be asked to input your password on the next screen.

» Proceed

You are now leaving the Cambridge University Press website. Your eBook purchase and download will be completed by our partner Please see the permission section of the catalogue page for details of the print & copy limits on our eBooks.

Continue ×

Continue ×

Continue ×

Find content that relates to you

This site uses cookies to improve your experience. Read more Close

Are you sure you want to delete your account?

This cannot be undone.


Thank you for your feedback which will help us improve our service.

If you requested a response, we will make sure to get back to you shortly.

Please fill in the required fields in your feedback submission.