Skip to content

Your Cart


You have 0 items in your cart.

Register Sign in Wishlist
Beethoven: Violin Concerto

Beethoven: Violin Concerto

$41.99 (P)

Part of Cambridge Music Handbooks

  • Date Published: February 1998
  • availability: Available
  • format: Paperback
  • isbn: 9780521457750

$ 41.99 (P)

Add to cart Add to wishlist

Other available formats:
Hardback, eBook

Looking for an examination copy?

If you are interested in the title for your course we can consider offering an examination copy. To register your interest please contact providing details of the course you are teaching.

Product filter button
About the Authors
  • This is the first individual study of Beethoven's Violin Concerto. It explores the work's background and the influences that combined in its creation, and describes its indifferent initial reception. It considers the numerous textual problems that confront the performer, including discussion of Beethoven's adaptation for piano and orchestra. Following a detailed synopsis of the work itself, a final section reviews the wide variety of cadenzas that have been written to complement the concerto throughout its performance history.

    • This is the first individual study of Beethoven's Violin Concerto
    • It sheds light on the personalities and styles which influenced Beethoven and his conception of the work
    • It describes the genesis of the work, its performance history and critical reception in detail
    Read more

    Customer reviews

    Not yet reviewed

    Be the first to review

    Review was not posted due to profanity


    , create a review

    (If you're not , sign out)

    Please enter the right captcha value
    Please enter a star rating.
    Your review must be a minimum of 12 words.

    How do you rate this item?


    Product details

    • Date Published: February 1998
    • format: Paperback
    • isbn: 9780521457750
    • length: 140 pages
    • dimensions: 214 x 136 x 10 mm
    • weight: 0.17kg
    • contains: 2 b/w illus. 3 tables 30 music examples
    • availability: Available
  • Table of Contents

    1. Towards the Violin Concerto op. 61
    2. The genesis of op. 61
    3. Reception and performance history
    4. The textual history
    5. Structure and style I:
    1. Allegro ma non troppo
    6. Structure and style II:
    2/3. Larghetto - Rondo: Allegro
    Rondo: Allegro
    7. Cadenzas.

  • Author

    Robin Stowell, University of Wales College of Cardiff

related journals

Sign In

Please sign in to access your account


Not already registered? Create an account now. ×

Sorry, this resource is locked

Please register or sign in to request access. If you are having problems accessing these resources please email

Register Sign in
Please note that this file is password protected. You will be asked to input your password on the next screen.

» Proceed

You are now leaving the Cambridge University Press website. Your eBook purchase and download will be completed by our partner Please see the permission section of the catalogue page for details of the print & copy limits on our eBooks.

Continue ×

Continue ×

Continue ×

Find content that relates to you

This site uses cookies to improve your experience. Read more Close

Are you sure you want to delete your account?

This cannot be undone.


Thank you for your feedback which will help us improve our service.

If you requested a response, we will make sure to get back to you shortly.

Please fill in the required fields in your feedback submission.