Skip to content
Register Sign in Wishlist

Brahms in the Home and the Concert Hall
Between Private and Public Performance

$31.99 (C)

Michael Musgrave, Katy Hamilton, Natasha Loges, Robert Eshbach, Marie Sumner Lott, Katrin Eich, Michael Struck, Robert Pascall, Valerie Woodring Goertzen, Helen Paskins, Styra Avins, Heather Platt, Markus Böggemann, Richard Leppert
View all contributors
  • Date Published: April 2018
  • availability: Available
  • format: Paperback
  • isbn: 9781108458085

$ 31.99 (C)

Add to cart Add to wishlist

Other available formats:
Hardback, eBook

Looking for an examination copy?

If you are interested in the title for your course we can consider offering an examination copy. To register your interest please contact providing details of the course you are teaching.

Product filter button
About the Authors
  • Johannes Brahms was a consummate professional musician, and a successful pianist, conductor, music director, editor and composer. Yet he also faithfully championed the world of private music-making, creating many works and arrangements for enjoyment in the home by amateurs. This collection explores Brahms' public and private musical identities from various angles: the original works he wrote with amateurs in mind; his approach to creating piano arrangements of not only his own, but also other composers' works; his relationships with his arrangers; the deeper symbolism and lasting legacy of private music-making in his day; and a hitherto unpublished memoir which evokes his Viennese social world. Using Brahms as their focus point, the contributors trace the overlapping worlds of public and private music-making in the nineteenth century, discussing the boundaries between the composer's professional identity and his lifelong engagement with amateur music-making.

    • An interdisciplinary compilation, spanning a range of musical genres as well as historical and philological approaches
    • Explores repertoire by Brahms's contemporaries and predecessors, and includes a hitherto unpublished memoir
    • Combines work by leading figures in UK, US and German scholarship, and will appeal to a wide international readership
    Read more

    Customer reviews

    Not yet reviewed

    Be the first to review

    Review was not posted due to profanity


    , create a review

    (If you're not , sign out)

    Please enter the right captcha value
    Please enter a star rating.
    Your review must be a minimum of 12 words.

    How do you rate this item?


    Product details

    • Date Published: April 2018
    • format: Paperback
    • isbn: 9781108458085
    • length: 423 pages
    • dimensions: 245 x 172 x 24 mm
    • weight: 0.76kg
    • contains: 27 b/w illus. 6 tables 124 music examples
    • availability: Available
  • Table of Contents

    Foreword Michael Musgrave
    1. Brahms in the home: an introduction Katy Hamilton and Natasha Loges
    2. The Joachim quartet concerts at the Berlin Sing-Akademie: Mendelssohnian Geselligkeit in Wilhelmine Germany Robert Eshbach
    3. Domesticity in Brahms's string sextets, Opp. 18 and 36 Marie Sumner Lott
    4. Where was the home of Brahms's piano works? Katrin Eich
    5. Main and shadowy existence(s): works and arrangements in the oeuvre of Johannes Brahms Michael Struck
    6. Brahms arranges his symphonies Robert Pascall
    7. At the piano with Joseph and Johannes: Joachim's overtures in Brahms's circle Valerie Woodring Goertzen
    8. Brahms and his arrangers Helen Paskins, Katy Hamilton and Natasha Loges
    9. Brahms in the Wittgenstein homes: a memoir and letters Styra Avins
    10. The construction of gender and mores in Brahms's Mädchenlieder Heather Platt
    11. Music inside the home and outside the box: Brahms's vocal quartets in context Katy Hamilton
    12. The limits of the Lied: Brahms's Magelone-Romanzen Op. 33 Natasha Loges
    13. Being (like) Brahms: emulation and ideology in late nineteenth-century Hausmusik Markus Böggemann
    14. The cultural dialectics of chamber music: Adorno and the visual-acoustic imaginary of Bildung Richard Leppert.

  • Editors

    Katy Hamilton, Royal College of Music, London
    Katy Hamilton holds the post of Junior Research Fellow in Performance History at the Royal College of Music, specialising in the vocal music of Johannes Brahms and his contemporaries. She is the author of William Hurlstone: A Catalogue of Works and was assistant to pianist Graham Johnson for his three-volume encyclopaedia Franz Schubert: The Complete Songs. In addition, she is an active chamber accompanist and repetiteur, having worked with instrumentalists, singers and choirs in England, Ireland, Spain and Germany. From 2008 to 2013 she was the course organiser and Music Director of the International Summer School of Music at Shrewsbury (ISSMUS), a specialist summer school for singers, composers, conductors and pianists.

    Natasha Loges, Royal College of Music, London
    Natasha Loges is Assistant Head of Programmes at the Royal College of Music, where she teaches on Brahms, the history of opera and the German lied. She has published various articles on Brahms's songs in journals such as Music and Letters and Nineteenth-Century Music Review. Supported by an Arts and Humanities Research Council award, she is currently completing a monograph called Brahms and his Poets. She is also active as a song accompanist and has broadcast live on BBC Radio 3. As a speaker, she has a long-standing association with the Oxford Lieder Festival, the UK's largest festival of art song.


    Michael Musgrave, Katy Hamilton, Natasha Loges, Robert Eshbach, Marie Sumner Lott, Katrin Eich, Michael Struck, Robert Pascall, Valerie Woodring Goertzen, Helen Paskins, Styra Avins, Heather Platt, Markus Böggemann, Richard Leppert

Sign In

Please sign in to access your account


Not already registered? Create an account now. ×

Sorry, this resource is locked

Please register or sign in to request access. If you are having problems accessing these resources please email

Register Sign in
Please note that this file is password protected. You will be asked to input your password on the next screen.

» Proceed

You are now leaving the Cambridge University Press website. Your eBook purchase and download will be completed by our partner Please see the permission section of the catalogue page for details of the print & copy limits on our eBooks.

Continue ×

Continue ×

Continue ×

Find content that relates to you

Join us online

This site uses cookies to improve your experience. Read more Close

Are you sure you want to delete your account?

This cannot be undone.


Thank you for your feedback which will help us improve our service.

If you requested a response, we will make sure to get back to you shortly.

Please fill in the required fields in your feedback submission.