Skip to content
Register Sign in Wishlist
Bruckner: Symphony No. 8

Bruckner: Symphony No. 8

$37.99 (P)

Part of Cambridge Music Handbooks

  • Date Published: May 2000
  • availability: Available
  • format: Paperback
  • isbn: 9780521635370

$ 37.99 (P)

Add to cart Add to wishlist

Other available formats:
Hardback, eBook

Looking for an examination copy?

If you are interested in the title for your course we can consider offering an examination copy. To register your interest please contact providing details of the course you are teaching.

Product filter button
About the Authors
  • Anton Bruckner's Eighth Symphony (1890), one of the last of the great Romantic symphonies, is a grandly complex masterpiece. This book explores this many-faceted work from several angles. It documents the complicated and often misunderstood history of the symphony's composition and revision and provides an accessible guide to its musical design. It demonstrates, by means of a study of well-known recordings, how performance styles have evolved in this century. It also revisits the conventional wisdom about the various versions and editions of the symphony and comes to some provocative new conclusions.

    • The first book devoted to this work
    • There is much demand for material on Bruckner at present
    • Contains much new scholarship on Bruckner and specifically on this work, regarding compositional history, editions and performance history
    Read more

    Reviews & endorsements

    'What [this book] does reveal is enough to keep Bruckner-enthusiasts agonising and arguing for decades.' BBC Music Magazine

    Customer reviews

    Not yet reviewed

    Be the first to review

    Review was not posted due to profanity


    , create a review

    (If you're not , sign out)

    Please enter the right captcha value
    Please enter a star rating.
    Your review must be a minimum of 12 words.

    How do you rate this item?


    Product details

    • Date Published: May 2000
    • format: Paperback
    • isbn: 9780521635370
    • length: 148 pages
    • dimensions: 216 x 139 x 9 mm
    • weight: 0.2kg
    • contains: 21 music examples
    • availability: Available
  • Table of Contents

    1. Placing the Eighth Symphony
    2. The genesis and evolution of the Eighth Symphony
    3. Symphonic design and musical logic
    4. The Adagio and the sublime
    5. The 1887 version and the 1890 version
    6. The 1892 edition, authorship, and performance practice
    Appendix A. Haas's edition of the Eighth Symphony
    Appendix B. Textual differences between the Finale in the 1890 version and the 1892 version.

  • Author

    Benjamin M. Korstvedt, University of St Thomas, Minnesota

Sign In

Please sign in to access your account


Not already registered? Create an account now. ×

Sorry, this resource is locked

Please register or sign in to request access. If you are having problems accessing these resources please email

Register Sign in
Please note that this file is password protected. You will be asked to input your password on the next screen.

» Proceed

You are now leaving the Cambridge University Press website. Your eBook purchase and download will be completed by our partner Please see the permission section of the catalogue page for details of the print & copy limits on our eBooks.

Continue ×

Continue ×

Continue ×

Find content that relates to you

Join us online

This site uses cookies to improve your experience. Read more Close

Are you sure you want to delete your account?

This cannot be undone.


Thank you for your feedback which will help us improve our service.

If you requested a response, we will make sure to get back to you shortly.

Please fill in the required fields in your feedback submission.