Skip to content

Your Cart


You have 0 items in your cart.

Register Sign in Wishlist
Look Inside Louis Spohr

Louis Spohr
A Critical Biography

$57.99 (C)

  • Date Published: March 2006
  • availability: Available
  • format: Paperback
  • isbn: 9780521029056

$ 57.99 (C)

Add to cart Add to wishlist

Looking for an examination copy?

If you are interested in the title for your course we can consider offering an examination copy. To register your interest please contact providing details of the course you are teaching.

Product filter button
About the Authors
  • Published in Spohr's 200th anniversary year, this book is the first to deal at length with both the life and the works of a composer who exerted a strong influence on the development of nineteenth-century music. Spohr was hailed in his own day as a worthy successor to Mozart and Beethoven, yet in the present century his former renown has gone largely unrecognised. Clive Brown gives an account of Spohr's life and character, and examines the areas in which his impact was most profound. He discusses Spohr's compositions critically and provides a stylistic and aesthetic assessment of his work. The chronological account of Spohr's life unfolds in parallel with the description of his musical output; a final chapter considers the decline of his reputation after his death. This volume will be of interest not only to scholars and students but also to general musical readers. And, since so little of Spohr's very substantial output is available in modern editions and is seldom performed, the book will also prove useful to practical musicians in search of worthwhile music for performance.

    Customer reviews

    Not yet reviewed

    Be the first to review

    Review was not posted due to profanity


    , create a review

    (If you're not , sign out)

    Please enter the right captcha value
    Please enter a star rating.
    Your review must be a minimum of 12 words.

    How do you rate this item?


    Product details

    • Date Published: March 2006
    • format: Paperback
    • isbn: 9780521029056
    • length: 380 pages
    • dimensions: 235 x 155 x 16 mm
    • weight: 0.535kg
    • availability: Available
  • Table of Contents

    1. Early life - 1784–1803
    2. First concert tours - 1803–1805
    3. Konzertmeister in Gotha: marriage - 1805–1808
    4. Virtuoso and composer: spreading reputation - 1808–1813
    5. Vienna - 1813–1816
    6. Italy - 1816–1817
    7. Kapellmeister in Frankfurt - 1817–1820
    8. London, Paris and Dresden - 1820–1822
    9. Hofkapellmeister in Kassel: operatic triumph - 1822–1825
    10. Oratorio and opera: success and failure - 1825–1830
    11. Revolution and bereavement - 1830–1836
    12. Remarriage and returning stability - 1836–1839
    13. Renewed ties with England - 1839–1842
    14. 'The great Spohr - the immortal while yet living' - 1841–1843
    15. An operatic finale - 1843–1847
    16. Revolution: hope and disillusionment - 1847–1852
    17. 'The Altmeister of the departing epoch' - 1852–1859
    18. Reaction and neglect

  • Author

    Clive Brown

Sign In

Please sign in to access your account


Not already registered? Create an account now. ×

Sorry, this resource is locked

Please register or sign in to request access. If you are having problems accessing these resources please email

Register Sign in
Please note that this file is password protected. You will be asked to input your password on the next screen.

» Proceed

You are now leaving the Cambridge University Press website. Your eBook purchase and download will be completed by our partner Please see the permission section of the catalogue page for details of the print & copy limits on our eBooks.

Continue ×

Continue ×

Continue ×

Find content that relates to you

Join us online

This site uses cookies to improve your experience. Read more Close

Are you sure you want to delete your account?

This cannot be undone.


Thank you for your feedback which will help us improve our service.

If you requested a response, we will make sure to get back to you shortly.

Please fill in the required fields in your feedback submission.