Skip to content
Register Sign in Wishlist

The Keyboard Sonatas of Domenico Scarlatti and Eighteenth-Century Musical Style

$58.99 (C)

  • Date Published: August 2008
  • availability: Available
  • format: Paperback
  • isbn: 9780521071222

$ 58.99 (C)

Add to cart Add to wishlist

Other available formats:

Looking for an examination copy?

If you are interested in the title for your course we can consider offering an examination copy. To register your interest please contact providing details of the course you are teaching.

Product filter button
About the Authors
  • This investigation of one of the greatest yet least understood repertories of Western keyboard music reveals the reasons why the 555 keyboard sonatas of Domenico Scarlatti have not been written about more often. The lack of documentary evidence and the composer's position between the so-called Baroque and the Classical periods are crucial factors. W. Dean Sutcliffe also examines each individual sonata in unprecedented detail.

    • The first book on Scarlatti's sonatas in English for fifty years
    • Contains discussion of recordings of the sonatas
    • Unique reference guide to and commentary on writings about Scarlatti
    Read more

    Reviews & endorsements

    "...a substantial contribution to the field." NOTES

    "This reviewer does not doubt that Sutcliffe has added significantly to the scholarship about Scarlatti and that this book will be useful to the Scarlatti scholar...." Choice

    "Anyone reading the book attentively will come away with a heightened awareness of the brilliance and originality with which Scarlatti not only flouted convention but also made seeming caprices part of a coherent musical language." Early Keyboard Journal, David Schulenberg

    See more reviews

    Customer reviews

    Not yet reviewed

    Be the first to review

    Review was not posted due to profanity


    , create a review

    (If you're not , sign out)

    Please enter the right captcha value
    Please enter a star rating.
    Your review must be a minimum of 12 words.

    How do you rate this item?


    Product details

    • Date Published: August 2008
    • format: Paperback
    • isbn: 9780521071222
    • length: 416 pages
    • dimensions: 244 x 170 x 22 mm
    • weight: 0.66kg
    • contains: 3 b/w illus. 86 music examples
    • availability: Available
  • Table of Contents

    1. Domenico Scarlatti the interesting historical figure
    2. Panorama
    3. Heteroglossia
    4. Syntax
    5. Irritations
    6. 'Una Genuina Música de Tecla'
    7. Formal Dynamic

  • Author

    W. Dean Sutcliffe, University of Auckland
    W. Dean Sutcliffe is University Lecturer at the University of Cambridge and a Fellow of St Catharine's College. He is author of Haydn: String Quartets, Op. 50 (1992) in the Cambridge Music Handbook series and editor of Haydn Studies (Cambridge 1998). He is also co-editor of the Cambridge journal Eighteenth-Century Music, the first issue of which will be published in 2004.

Sign In

Please sign in to access your account


Not already registered? Create an account now. ×

Sorry, this resource is locked

Please register or sign in to request access. If you are having problems accessing these resources please email

Register Sign in
Please note that this file is password protected. You will be asked to input your password on the next screen.

» Proceed

You are now leaving the Cambridge University Press website. Your eBook purchase and download will be completed by our partner Please see the permission section of the catalogue page for details of the print & copy limits on our eBooks.

Continue ×

Continue ×

Continue ×

Find content that relates to you

Join us online

This site uses cookies to improve your experience. Read more Close

Are you sure you want to delete your account?

This cannot be undone.


Thank you for your feedback which will help us improve our service.

If you requested a response, we will make sure to get back to you shortly.

Please fill in the required fields in your feedback submission.