Skip to content
Register Sign in Wishlist
The Organ Music of J. S. Bach

The Organ Music of J. S. Bach

2nd Edition

$65.99 (C)

  • Date Published: January 2004
  • availability: Available
  • format: Paperback
  • isbn: 9780521891158

$ 65.99 (C)

Add to cart Add to wishlist

Other available formats:

Looking for an examination copy?

If you are interested in the title for your course we can consider offering an examination copy. To register your interest please contact providing details of the course you are teaching.

Product filter button
About the Authors
  • Taking account of Bach scholarship of the past twenty-five years, the first two volumes of Peter Williams's classic study of Bach's organ works are fully revised. This work is a piece-by-piece commentary on this ever-popular repertoire, demonstrating the music's unique qualities and how we might hear and play it today. The book follows the order of the Bach catalog (BWV): beginning with the sonatas, followed by the "free works" and the chorales, and ending with the doubtful works, including the "newly discovered chorales" of 1985.

    • Total revision of a best-seller
    • Covers the most admired part of the organ repertory
    • Provides valuable insights into the working of one of music's greatest minds
    Read more

    Reviews & endorsements

    "This masterful revision of a book first published in 1980 confirms Peter Williams's towering status in the field. The book is a wonderful reference and guide for the performer and scholar alike." Times Literary Supplement, Martin J. Smith

    "This work belongs in every organist's library. The analysis progresses in order of the BWV listings, and every work is thoroughly examined in light of the most recent and highest scholarship. The foundation of every organist's repertoire is Bach, and this work will shed some new light and perhaps provide new interpretive inspiration on many familiar works." - Music Educators Journal, "For Your Library"

    See more reviews

    Customer reviews

    Not yet reviewed

    Be the first to review

    Review was not posted due to profanity


    , create a review

    (If you're not , sign out)

    Please enter the right captcha value
    Please enter a star rating.
    Your review must be a minimum of 12 words.

    How do you rate this item?


    Product details

    • Edition: 2nd Edition
    • Date Published: January 2004
    • format: Paperback
    • isbn: 9780521891158
    • length: 638 pages
    • dimensions: 243 x 172 x 32 mm
    • weight: 1.04kg
    • contains: 297 music examples
    • availability: Available
  • Table of Contents

    Fugue in G Minor, BWV 131a
    Six Sonatas, BWV 525-530
    Preludes and Fugues (Praeludia), BWV 531-552
    Eight Short Preludes and Fugues, BWV 553-560
    Miscellaneous Pieces, BWV 561-591
    Concertos, BWV 592-596
    Orgelbüchlein, BWV 599-644
    Schübler Chorales, BWV 645-650
    Chorales formerly called 'The Eighteen', BWV 651-668
    Chorales from Clavierübung III, BWV 669-689
    Chorales formerly called 'The Kirnsberger Collection', BWV 690-713
    Miscellaneous Chorales, BWV 714-765
    Chorale Variations (Partitas), BWV 766-771
    Four Duets from Clavierübung III, BWV 802-805
    Chorales now called 'The Neumeister Collection', BWV 1090-1120
    Further works, in part uncertain of origin

  • Author

    Peter Williams
    Peter Williams (1937–2016) was an internationally renowned Bach scholar and performer. He was Professor of Performance Practice and the first Director of the Russell Collection of Harpsichords at the University of Edinburgh, Arts and Sciences Distinguished Professor at Duke University, North Carolina, and John Bird Professor at the University of Wales, Cardiff. He wrote numerous books on the organ, organ history and organ repertoire. The first edition of The Organ Music of J. S. Bach was published in 1980 (Volumes 1 and 2) and 1984 (Volume 3).

Sorry, this resource is locked

Please register or sign in to request access. If you are having problems accessing these resources please email

Register Sign in
Please note that this file is password protected. You will be asked to input your password on the next screen.

» Proceed

You are now leaving the Cambridge University Press website. Your eBook purchase and download will be completed by our partner Please see the permission section of the catalogue page for details of the print & copy limits on our eBooks.

Continue ×

Continue ×

Continue ×
warning icon

Turn stock notifications on?

You must be signed in to your Cambridge account to turn product stock notifications on or off.

Sign in Create a Cambridge account arrow icon

Find content that relates to you

Join us online

This site uses cookies to improve your experience. Read more Close

Are you sure you want to delete your account?

This cannot be undone.


Thank you for your feedback which will help us improve our service.

If you requested a response, we will make sure to get back to you shortly.

Please fill in the required fields in your feedback submission.