Skip to content
Register Sign in Wishlist
The Music of Conlon Nancarrow

The Music of Conlon Nancarrow

$32.99 (G)

Part of Music in the Twentieth Century

  • Date Published: November 2006
  • availability: Available
  • format: Paperback
  • isbn: 9780521028073

$ 32.99 (G)

Add to cart Add to wishlist

Looking for an examination copy?

If you are interested in the title for your course we can consider offering an examination copy. To register your interest please contact providing details of the course you are teaching.

Product filter button
About the Authors
  • Conlon Nancarrow has written the most rhythmically complex music the world has ever known, so complex that it can only be realized on a mechanical player piano. Yet Nancarrow's whirlwinds of notes, sometimes as many as eighty per second, are jazzy and infectiously joyous. The music he composed in almost complete isolation from 1940 on has only recently achieved international fame, and this is the first book to cover in detail Nancarrow's life and compositional achievements. The book includes analysis of sixty-five works and previously unpublished biographical information.

    • A major study of the world's most rhythmically complex composer, Conlon Nancarrow
    • Nancarrow's music is now achieving international fame, and recordings are being made
    • Contains valuable source material through analysis of the works and biographical information
    Read more

    Reviews & endorsements

    "Kyle Gann's brilliant and authoritative study....Gann's study convincingly defines the field of inquiry for a composer whose full stature is only now becomming clear." Philip Rupprecht, I.S.A.M. Newsletter

    Customer reviews

    Not yet reviewed

    Be the first to review

    Review was not posted due to profanity


    , create a review

    (If you're not , sign out)

    Please enter the right captcha value
    Please enter a star rating.
    Your review must be a minimum of 12 words.

    How do you rate this item?


    Product details

    • Date Published: November 2006
    • format: Paperback
    • isbn: 9780521028073
    • length: 316 pages
    • dimensions: 244 x 170 x 18 mm
    • weight: 0.504kg
    • contains: 117 music examples
    • availability: Available
  • Table of Contents

    1. The music: general considerations
    2. A biographical sketch
    3. Foreshadowings: the early works
    4. Blues years: the ostinato studies
    5. Isorhythm: the numbers game
    6. Canon: phase 1
    7. Stretching time: the acceleration studies
    8. Beyond counterpoint: the sound-mass canons
    9. Synthesizing a language
    10. After the player piano
    Select bibliography

  • Author

    Kyle Gann

Sign In

Please sign in to access your account


Not already registered? Create an account now. ×

Sorry, this resource is locked

Please register or sign in to request access. If you are having problems accessing these resources please email

Register Sign in
Please note that this file is password protected. You will be asked to input your password on the next screen.

» Proceed

You are now leaving the Cambridge University Press website. Your eBook purchase and download will be completed by our partner Please see the permission section of the catalogue page for details of the print & copy limits on our eBooks.

Continue ×

Continue ×

Continue ×

Find content that relates to you

Join us online

This site uses cookies to improve your experience. Read more Close

Are you sure you want to delete your account?

This cannot be undone.


Thank you for your feedback which will help us improve our service.

If you requested a response, we will make sure to get back to you shortly.

Please fill in the required fields in your feedback submission.