COMMISSION 50

PROTECTION OF EXISTING AND POTENTIAL OBSERVING SITES

PRESIDENT VICE-PRESIDENT PAST PRESIDENT ORGANIZING COMMITTEE

Wim van Driel
Richard Green
Richard Wainscoat
Elizabeth Alvarez del Castillo,
Carlo Blanco, Dave Crawford,
Margarita Metaxa, Masatoshi Ohishi,
Woody Sullivan, Tasso Tzioumis.

PROCEEDINGS BUSINESS SESSION, 7 August 2009

The past President of Division XII, Malcolm Smith, took the chair of the business meeting of C50, in the absence of the past President of C50, Richard Wainscoat. He described the procedure of the election in 2006 of the then-time vice-president of C50, Richard Wainscoat, as President of C50, after the untimely deatch of the then-time C50 President, Hugo Schwarz. He also described the procedure for electing the incoming OC members and officers.

The outcome of the elections is as follows:

President: Wim van Driel (France) Vice-president: Richard Green (USA) Past President: Richard Wainscoat (USA)

Board: Elizabeth Alvarez del Castillo (USA), Carlo Blanco (Italy), Dave Crawford (USA), Margarita Metaxa (Greece), Masatoshi Ohishi (Japan), Woody Sullivan (USA), Tasso Tzioumis (Australia).

President of C50's Working Group on Controlling Light Pollution: Richard Wainscoat (USA).

The meeting reviewed Resolution B5 in Defence of the night sky and the right to starlight, which was proposed by the IAU GA EC WG IYA2009 Cornerstone Project Dark Skies Awareness and the members of the Starlight Declaration, and supported by C50.

A report was given on the coming threat of white lights, an account was given of the work done for the International Commission on Illumination (CIE) by C50 members, followed by a status report on the "Starlight" reserves initiative and on the current status of the IYA Dark-Skies Awareness Cornerstone. The meeting was finished by a session on the protection of radio astronomy observing sites, with a tutorial on the subject and a report of future issues in radio spectrum management.

Wim van Driel President of the Commission