Skip to main content Accessibility help
  • Print publication year: 2019
  • Online publication date: October 2019

4 - Sociocultural Complexities of Latin American and Caribbean Women in Computing

from Part II - Regional Perspectives


Latin America and the Caribbean is a vast area reaching two continents, North America and South America, and the islands in and around the Caribbean Sea. This region accounts for 8.6% of the world’s population (UNESCO, 2016). Geographically, Latin America and the Caribbean commences in North America at the United States and Mexico border and terminates in South America at Tierra del Fuego in Chile. The Caribbean includes countries, dependencies, and territories in and around the Caribbean Sea. Latin America and the Caribbean includes thirty-three countries and thirteen dependencies and/or territories. Within Latin America are the geographically recognized larger sub-regions of North America, Central America, and South America. The Caribbean includes nine sub-regions. Within the Caribbean is the Caribbean Community (CARICOM), which is comprised of a grouping of twenty countries, all island states, but does not include all countries within the Caribbean (