Skip to main content Accessibility help

William F. Sharpe Best Paper Award

Announcing the Winners of the JFQA 2022 William F. Sharpe Best Paper Award

The William F. Sharpe Award for Scholarship in Financial Research recognizes researchers who, through their articles published in the JFQA, have most contributed to our understanding of important areas of financial economics. Nominees for the Sharpe Award are chosen by a vote of JFQA readers and Associate Editors; the winners, who receive a $5,000 cash prize, are selected by the Managing Editors.

The winners of the Sharpe Award for JFQA papers published in 2022 are:

Bing Han, University of Toronto Rotman School of Management
David Hirshleifer, University of California at Irvine Merage School of Business
Johan Walden, University of California at Berkeley, University of Lausanne, and Swiss Finance Institute

For their article:

"Social Transmission Bias and Investor Behavior"

February 2022, Vol. 57, No. 1, pp. 390-412

Congratulations to Bing, David and Johan for their accomplishments.