Skip to main content
Editorial board

Gary L. Messing, Ceramic Materials, The Pennsylvania State University, USA

Associate Editor, Biomaterials

Susmita Bose, Biomaterials, Washington State University, USA

Associate Editor, Metallic Materials

Jürgen Eckert, Metallic materials, Montanuniversität Leoben, Austria

Associate Editor, Polymers and Organic Materials

Linda S. Schadler, Polymeric materials, University of Vermont, USA

Principal Editors

Amit Bandyopadhyay, Hard biomaterials, Additive manufacturing, Washington State University, USA

Ricardo H.R. Castro, Interfaces thermodynamics, Calorimetry, Nanoceramics, University of California Davis, USA

Yang-T. Cheng, Mechanical behavior, Electrochemical energy storage,University of Kentucky, USA

Jinju Chen, Soft materials/thin films, Nanoindentation, Newcastle University, UK

Xiaobo Chen, Photocatalysis and batteries, University of Missouri - Kansas City, USA

Sung-Yoon Chung, Mechanical behavior, Electromechanical energy storage, KAIST, South Korea

Paolo Colombo, Preceramic polymers. Porous ceramics, University of Padova, Italy|The Pennsylvania State University, USA

Sylvain Deville, Ceramic materials, Processing, Bioinspired materials,CNRS, France

Franz Faupel, Functional nanomaterials, Universität Kiel, Germany

Michael C. Gao, High entropy alloys, Computational materials science,National Energy Technology Laboratory/AECOM , USA

Mathias Göken, Superalloys, Nanomaterials, Nanomechanics, Friedrich-Alexander-Universität Erlangen-Nürnberg, Germany

Erik G. Herbert, Nanoindentation, Small-scale mechanical behavior, Michigan Technological University, USA

Jon Ihlefeld, Ferroelectrics, thin films, Ionic conductors, University of Virginia, USA

Himanshu Jain, Inorganic glass, Optical, Electrical properties, Lehigh University, USA

Quanxi Jia, Superconductors, Ferroelectric/magnetic materials, Thin films, University of Buffalo, USA

C. Robert Kao, Metallic materials, Diffusion and joining, National Taiwan University, Taiwan

Edson Roberto Leite, Materials chemistry, Nanocrystals, Synthesis, Brazilian Nanotechnology National Laboratory, Brazil

Jörg Löffler, Metallic materials/synthesis and properties, ETH Zurich, Switzerland

Lei Liu, Semiconductors, Electronic structure, Spectroscopy,Changchun Institute of Optics, Fine Mechanics, and Physics, China

Michele Manuel, Phase formations, Materials design, University of Florida, USA

Michael E. McHenry, Magnetic materials, Carnegie Mellon University, USA

Scott T. Misture, In-situ diffraction, Electronically active ceramics, Alfred University, USA

Sarah E. Morgan, Polymer surfaces and interfaces, The University of Southern Mississippi, USA

Lakshmi Nair, Biomaterials, Tissue regeneration, drug delivery, University of Connecticut, USA

Akira Nakajima, Photocatalysis, Surface wettability, Ceramic processing, Tokyo Institute of Technology, Japan

Cewen Nan, Ferroelectric, Multiferroic materials, Tsinghua University, China

George M. Pharr, Mechanical behavior, Nanoindentation, Texas A&M University, USA

Ian M. Reaney, Electroceramics, TEM, Thin films, The University of Sheffield, UK

Joshua Robinson, 2D material synthesis and properties, The Pennsylvania State University , USA

Fabrice Rossignol, Ceramic processes, Additive measuring, CNRS, France

Edward M. Sabolsky, Electroceramics, Electrochemistry, Processing, West Virginia University, USA

Don W. Shaw, Epitaxy, Vapor deposition, Semiconductors, The University of Texas at Dallas, USA

Susan B. Sinnott, Computational materials science, Pennsylvania State University, USA

Ziqi Sun, Energy nanomaterials, Wet chemical synthesis, Queensland University of Technology, Australia

Mitra Taheri, Metallic materials, Semiconductors, Complex Oxides,Drexel University, USA

Chongmin Wang, Energy storage, Microscopy, In-situ/operando technique Pacific Northwest National Laboratory, USA

William J. Weber, Radiation effects, Nuclear ceramics, University of Tennessee/Oak Ridge National Laboratory, USA

Sam Zhang, Thin films/coatings, Nanyang Technological University, Singapore

Yanchun Zhou, Structural ceramics, Electronic structure, Aerospace Research Institute of Materials and Processing Technology, China

Journal of Materials Research Staff

Ellen W. Kracht, Publications Manager

Leslie Truver, Editorial Assistant

Kirby L. Morris, Production Assistant

Eileen M. Kiley, Director of Communications